Twitter Facebook Linkedin

Public Notices

In compliance with the Illinois Freedom of Information Act, the Deerfield Park District provides the following information to assist citizens who ask for access to records authorized under the Act.

The request for access to public records must be made in writing. A written request does not have to be made on a standard form. You may submit your written request in person at the address listed below - or via mail, fax, or e-mail.

Please submit your request to:

Jeff Nehila – FOIA Officer
Bob Taylor - FOIA Officer

Deerfield Park District
836 Jewett Park Drive
Deerfield IL  60015
Fax: 847-945-0699

When submitting your written request, please be as specific as possible. The Freedom of Information Act is designed to allow you to receive and/or inspect copies of records. It is not designed to require a public body to answer questions.

The Deerfield Park District was established in 1951 to provide recreation programs and facilities for residents of all ages. The park system operates on revenue received from the district's share of real estate property taxes and user fees. 

The district is governed by an elected board of park commissioners who serve four year terms of office without pay. The board meets the third Thursday of each month at the Jewett Park Community Center. Board members set policy for the district, which is administered by a director of parks and recreation and a staff of recreation professionals. The board receives community input through its citizen advisory committees, composed of appointed community volunteers, and from the general public.

For Fiscal Year 2016 the total budget for Deerfield Park District includes revenues of $14,329,593 and expenses of $18,106,031.  The District has 45 full time employees, plus over 700 part time & seasonal employees.

Park District Organizational Chart (PDF format)

Board of Park Commissioners

Gil Antokal
Jan Caron
Joe Cohen
Greg Lapin
Rick Patinkin

Number and Location of Offices (6 locations)

Jewett Park Community Center
836 Jewett Park Drive
Deerfield, IL 60015

Patty Turner Center
375 Elm Street
Deerfield, IL 60015

Deerfield Golf Club
1201 Saunders Road
Riverwoods, IL 60015

Sachs Recreation Center
455 Lake Cook Road
Deerfield, IL 60015

Deerspring Pool
200 Deerfield Road
Deerfield, IL 60015
847-945-7610 (in season only)

Mitchell Pool
951 Wilmot Road
Deerfield, IL 60015
847-945-7760 (in season only)



Advisory Boards, Commissions, Committees, Councils

Affiliate Advisory

James Kirby
John Mann
Dan McGrath
Tom O'Connell
Stuart Slutzky
Greg Lapin

Golf Advisory

Brian Bradford
Tom Burger
Jim Finkler
Mickey Franson
Tom Gramins
Sue Mangin
Dan Mazur
Don Olson
Richard Sandgren
Steven Rosenberg
Joe Cohen

Pool Advisory

Larry Barr
Kevin Butler
Sylvia Dresser
Jay Keltner
Maureen Wener
Rick Patinkin

Recreation Center Advisory

Steve Bernstein
Lisa Dunn
Jennifer Goldstone
Mike Leiderman
Steve Mazur
Roger Ockrim
Laura Passmore
Sharon Weyhmueller
Gil Antokal

Senior Council

Ed Barth
Barry Davidson

Tom Gramins 
Steve Jackson

Rita Kirby

Karen MacDonald
John Maxson
Bernice Mitkey
John Sanner
Marilyn Schwartz
Jane Smith
Donna Stupple



Illinois Open Meetings Act

Information pursuant to Public Act 97-609 (5 ILCS 120/7.3) is available by contacting the Administrative Office of the Deerfield Park District at 847-945-0650 extension 2612 or 2613, or by contacting a FOIA Officer for the District.




Deerfield Park District
836 Jewett Park Drive
Deerfield, IL 60015
(847) 945-0650
(847) 945-0699 (fax)
©2017 Deerfield Park District. All Rights Reserved.